HOMES & LAND IN THE MOUNTAINS SINCE 1985

Compare Listings

HELPFUL IN EVERY WAY

Appalachian Land Company has demonstrated a level of ethics and professionalism I have found to be a refreshing change of pace. Over the years, I have dealt with a number of real estate firms across the U.S. and Canada for both residential and commercial properties and I would rank your company among the finest.

I purchased a personal residence through Appalachian Land Company and was so very impressed with your sales and support staff that when I decided to purchase a residential development, I utilized your firm as well for both the purchase of the development as well as the sales of individual lots.

I very seldom take the time to write a letter of recommendation, but I find Appalachian Land Company to be worthy of praise. I recommend your company to personal as well as professional acquaintances, which is the very highest compliment I can give. I wish Jo Crowe-JoinesandAppalachian Land Company continued success.

Eldon B. Ward, President & CEO, Consolidated Southeastern Investments, Inc.


MADE THE WHOLE TRANSACTION EASY

I wanted to share my experience with Crystal Davis. I listed my home with her in March 2020. Within 24 hours of the listing, she brought 3 offers, two of which were full price. She and her 70-year-old father helped me load my U-Haul as well. She was a delight to work with and made the whole transaction easy. I moved back to my home in Arizona, but after 3 months I miss Murphy so I’m buying a new home from Crystal tomorrow.

Derrick G., June 22, 2020


GREAT PEOPLE!

Ron and Gayle Halstead were patient with friendly service, and are great people!

Andrew M., June 22, 2020


SOLD HOME QUICKLY

Jacob Crowe had our home sold with no problems and very little time on the market.

Thomas & Sydney B., June 20, 2020


CRYSTAL DAVIS WAS PHENOMENAL!

My working with Crystal Davis was phenomenal! All that she did was special. She was professional, very knowledgeable, and always kept us informed. We would have lost this house had Crystal not kept us informed!

Alfred & Frances D., June 16, 2020


PROFESSIONAL & UNDERSTANDING

Crystal Davis was professional and understanding. I liked her enthusiasm – and her accent.

James P., June 16, 2020


INFORMED & RESPONSIVE

Eric Stevenson was not pushy and was very informed. He knew the home, was always there and was responsive to all communication. Eric was also able to navigate with the selling agent about a delayed survey the selling agent was responsible for.

Tina B., May 22, 2020


NOT PUSHY 

Eric Stevenson was not pushy. Eric deserves special recognition because after the sale he assisted in introducing me to a local farmer (one of the contacts I wanted to make).

Alan T., May 22, 2020


PROFESSIONAL & PROMPT SALE

Sonya Reid  is a very knowledgeable and helpful realtor. She has sold two of my homes and both were without a kink. I would recommend her to anyone wanting a professional and prompt sale.

debjeansmith66, April 24, 2020


SOLD OUR LOT 

Deanna Robertson deserves special recognition for selling our lot. Her clients liked our lot and Deanna hunted us down to see if we would sell. She sold our property and it wasn’t even listed!

James & Joseph S., April 23, 2020


EXCELLENT COMMUNICATION & SUPERIOR CLIENT SERVICE

Newell Collins was awesome! He has the patience of a saint! Newell Collins worked with home buyers throughout the home buying and selling process, providing advice and guidance to me, and assisting with tasks including listing our property, visiting homes for sale, and connecting clients with mortgage professionals. His role provided excellent communication skills as well as a thorough knowledge of the local real estate market and superior client service skills.

In the future I will use Newell again. This time using his knowledge and expertise to find me a new home in Murphy or surrounding areas.

Fred & Wanda S., April 22, 2020


WILLING TO GO THE EXTRA MILE

Deanna Robertson deserves special recognition because she was willing to research and contact owners of the properties we were interested in. The property we purchased was not on the market. Deanna was personable and understanding. She was willing to go the extra mile.

Ted & Sharon T., April 20, 2020


MY HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION

I have known Joey for almost 20 years, and have used him on multiple transactions. You will find no one as honest and forthcoming in the real estate industry – anywhere. Additionally, there is no one who knows the Western NC and No. GA areas better than he does, as he is a longtime resident. I have  had many real estate transactions in my lifetime – both personal and investment-related – and of all the realtors I have dealt with I can recommend no one as highly as I can recommend Joey Reid

Fubartom, April 1, 2020


INFORMATIVE ABOUT HOME BUILDING

Newell Collins is very informative about the local home building process and requirements. He deserves special recognition because he met with us several times on short notice. Newell is a pleasure to work with!

Paul & Robin M., April 1, 2020


AWESOME BLESSING

Deanna Robertson is awesome and a blessing!

Christopher & Susan R., March 27, 2020


TRUSTWORTHY & CARING

We love working with Newell Collins because he is so trustworthy and caring.

Hugh & Sally H., March 26, 2020


FRIENDLY & HONEST

Levi Killian deserve special recognition because he knew we had a time constraint and made himself available to help us. I liked the friendliness and honesty in our dealings with Levi and Channyn Killian and Appalachian Land Company.

Kenneth & Kathleen F., March 17, 2020


KNOWLEDGEABLE, PATIENT & FRIENDLY

Crystal Davis is very knowledgeable, very patients and very friendly! I also liked Appalachian Land Company’s excellent website!

William & Marian M., March 9, 2020


FRIENDLY & HONEST

Levi and Channyn Killian explained the area and culture, which we appreciated. Levi and Channyn are friendly and honest, which is what we liked best about working with them.

Albert & Linda T., March 7, 2020


ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

Ron and Gayle Halstead have absolutely amazing and prompt communication! We were never left wondering what was going on. We also liked how friendly, communicative, prompt, and professional everyone was.

Joseph & Katherine N., February 24, 2020


KNOWS AREA & LAND

Jacob Crowe knows the area, and land purchasing and preparation. That’s what we liked best about working with him.

John & Carla C., February 24, 2020


FRIENDLY, KNOWLEDGEABLE & HELPFUL

Deanna Robertson is very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful! She held that fine line between buyer agent and seller agent without compromising either side.

Alistair & Jenny M., February 11, 2020


GENUINELY INTERESTED IN OUR NEEDS

What we liked best about working with Wayne Watson is that he kept us informed. We were well pleased with his service.

John & Mary M., January 24, 2020


OUTSTANDING & REMARKABLE

Crystal Davis is an outstanding and remarkable agent! I’m very happy with her service. Appalachian Land Company is blessed to have her.

Michael O., January 23, 2020


ABOVE & BEYOND 5-STAR SERVICE

Jacob Crowe continually provided me with above and beyond service and information. Jacob went above and beyond to make sure I received a good deal and was provided with 5-star service! I liked his friendliness and he always provided me with up-to-date information. The best Realtor I have worked with so far. Thank you Jacob!

Charles P., Jr., December 21, 2019


EASY TO CONTACT & QUICK TO RESPOND

Levi and Channyn Killian were easy to contact, quick to respond, and patient. Levi was great helping me with my homeowner’s insurance policy with buying a townhouse. He was always on time and available.

Anna H., November 26, 2019


WONDERFUL FROM FIRST MEETING!

I liked working with Newell Collins. There was no downside, it was wonderful from the first meeting!

Karen Ann R., November 27, 2019


A GREAT PERSON & REALTOR!

Newell Collins is a great person & realtor! He is always available and so helpful.

Dona A., November 26, 2019


ENTHUSIASTIC & HELPFUL

Ron and Gayle Halstead were so enthusiastic and helpful!  They were dedicated to helping us find our perfect home, yet at the same time gave us space and time to make up our minds.

Theresa A., November 25, 2019


THE BEST!

Ron and Gayle Halstead are the BEST! Ron and Gayle  went out of their way to help us close our loan on time.

Elgin & Kim C., November 25, 2019


ABOVE & BEYOND!

Ron deserve special recognition for helping me. Ron and Gayle Halstead  are the best!

Wendi S., November 25, 2019


CLEARLY THE RIGHT CHOICE

We honeymooned in Bear Paw 30+ years ago and fell in love with the Smoky Mountains and the Murphy area.  A couple of years later, we purchased two lots in Bear Paw with the intention of one day building a house.  Our plans were interrupted when we started adopting children and we frequently joked that our cabin in the mountains was running around our house.

Over the years we rented cabins in Bear Paw to enjoy the area with our kids.

One of the consistent memories from our many visits to the area was seeing the signs for Appalachian Land Company.  We recently chose Appalachian Land Company to help us find a cabin to purchase as a vacation/rental home.  One of the primary reasons for choosing them was their staying power in the market as evidenced by seeing their signs over a 30-year period.  No gimmicky billboards, just evidence they were in business for the long haul and not just the next sale.

Working with Levi Killian and Appalachian Land Company was clearly the right choice. We liked Levi’s thoroughness, follow-through, and initiative. Levi’s work ethic, patience, and willingness to risk showing us properties “outside the box” demonstrated his integrity and caring for people (us). Further, Levi acted as an intercessor between us and the bank.  Levi  shared his testimony. Working with a man of faith confirmed we chose the right agency.  When you walk through the offices at Appalachian Land Company, look at the artwork and scripture quotes on the walls.

The folks at Appalachian Land Company clearly walked through the process with us as partners in our journey and not just another task to be completed.

Robert & Martha G., November 14, 2019


INFORMATIVE

We like that Jacob Crowe is a local. He kept us well-informed.

Richard & Wanda D., November 13, 2019


LISTENS

I really like Newell Collins’ listening skills.

Frank N., November 8, 2019


EVERYTHING WAS GREAT

Everything was great with Levi and Channyn Killian.  They called us with updates without us calling them first.

Vance & Betty H., November 2, 2019


KEPT SALE ACTIVE

Ron and Gayle Halstead are “real” people ready to assist!  They worked with the seller to keep the sale active when buyer problems came up.

Ron N., October 30, 2019


GENUINELY INTERESTED IN OUR NEEDS

Wayne and Joy Watson seem genuinely interested in our needs.  Wayne had patience. We’ve been looking for years.  Last year we thought we had a cabin but the inspection killed it.  Wayne jumped right back in when we came up his year and we closed on a property.

David & Joann N., October 7, 2019


INFORMATIVE

We liked working with Jacob Crowe and getting to know him better.

Houston D. & Janis P., September 20, 2019


FANTASTIC KNOWLEDGE & INFORMATION 

My husband and I would like to share with you the outstanding relationship we have established with our Realtor, Jacob Crowe at the Murphy, NC office. We were first recommended to the company by a friend here in Naples, FL that had recently bought a home in Murphy from Newell Collins and was very pleased. We had been looking for land on the web for quite some time and had contacted a few different agencies only to find that most of the time they never followed up with us, or had much to offer. Newell was the first to even offer to actually drive us around to several specific areas we wanted to see. Most other agencies wanted us to drive ourselves around and then come see them when we found something we may want more info on. This would have been extremely difficult since we did not know the area. On the day we arrived to Murphy we received a phone call from Newell that he had been called to jury duty and that he would have another Realtor from the office, who was very knowledgeable about the area and land, take his place with us. We were extremely pleased that he recommended Jacob Crowe.

Jacob met us promptly at the office and we set out for a full day’s search of properties.  One of the things we liked best was Jacob’s knowledge of the area and the information he could provide about building a home there. His knowledge of the area was fantastic and all the lore and history lessons we received came for free. Jacob being raised in Murphy was such a huge plus in answering questions about the area.We had never been to Murphy before so this was a big help.

All it took was 1 day of looking and we were ready to purchase the second parcel of land he showed us. We were only there for a few days so he made things happen very quickly and stayed in constant contact with us. We went back to Florida knowing we had made the right choice in both the land and our Realtor; now also a friend.

Closing was set quickly but then experienced a few setbacks with the seller that Jacob kept up with daily and kept us well informed. Jacob truly went over and above in his efforts to keep on top of what was happening with closing and seller’s problems. We felt that we were well represented in getting these problems corrected.

We arrived just before closing to vacation for a week with 3 of our children and their families and to show them the land. Again Jacob met with us to show them and spent time with us explaining the clearing, survey, electric, well, and other procedures and helped us to get them underway.

We feel that we have created a real friend in Jacob and look forward to using him for any future Real Estate transactions. We would highly recommend Appalachian Land Company to anyone looking for that ONE OF A KIND Agency.

Steve & Lynda B., September 19, 2019


A PLEASURE

Newell is a pleasure to have as our Realtor!  He made the transaction easy. Thank you so much!

Craig & Lori W., July 23, 2019


ALERTED US TO FAIR PRICING

Eric Stevenson deserves special recognition for alerting me to the fair and current market price of LP gas in tank so I could compare it to what the seller wanted to charge.  I also liked working with Appalachian Land Company because of their multi-state scale.

J.W. M., July 10, 2019


HELPED US

Wayne and Joy Watson helped us by looking for a DOT number for us.

Patricia L., July 3, 2019


EVERYTHING WAS GREAT

Paul is beyond exceptional! Everything was great! Don’t ever let him go. Any and all transactions in the future will be with him!

Karen W., June 28, 2019


WENT OVER & ABOVE

I am more than happy to recommend Appalachian Land Company and especially Ron and Gayle. They went over and above the call of duty to assist me in the sale of my home. I am forever grateful and will certainly call upon them again should I need any future real estate service. They are not only professional but I feel we have become dear friends. I cannot sing their praises enough. Enthusiasm, honesty, and friendliness are the best things about working with Appalachian Land Company.

Barb O., June 21, 2019


ALWAYS HELPFUL

Newell was always helpful when I needed anything!

Darrell W., June 18, 2019


PERSISTENT & DILIGENT

Newell is a man of integrity. He is totally professional and goes above and beyond. Newell knows the area and really listens to the buyer’s needs and desires for the perfect home.

Newell provided us with professional contacts for home services. He was diligent with keeping us informed and, when the seller’s agent was not following up on issues, Newell was persistent and diligent to see that all issues were resolved.

Vicki M., June 10, 2019


VERY AVAILABLE

Ron and Gayle were very available when I needed to contact them.

Blain P., June 10, 2019


VERY PROFESSIONAL & DOWN TO EARTH

Crystal handled all of our questions and concerns in a timely manner knowing we were almost 8 hours away. She was very professional and down to earth at all times. Crystal is a keeper!

Bill & Penny K., June 6, 2019


VERY HELPFUL

Ron was very helpful and also sent us a list of service contractors.

Jerry G., May 25, 2019


KEPT IN TOUCH

Crystal kept in touch every step of the way thought our closing.

Sharon M., May 10, 2019


VERY HAPPY ALL AROUND

I was very happy all around working with Wayne and Joy Watson and Appalachian Land Company!

Connie C., May 7, 2019


NEWELL IS THE PERFECT REALTOR 

Newell Collins is the perfect realtor. He said he would find us our forever home, even we were beginning to lose hope, and he did! Newell never quits! He knows the area, the homes, and listened to what we wanted. He did the work to support us fully, walking us through the process of moving to a new state – through escrow, inspections and closing. Newell is professional, respectful, helpful, kind and extremely funny! Even now, months later, he will answer any questions we have about the area.

Patti & Blair M., May 1, 2019


JOEY REALLY LISTENED

Joey really listened to what we wanted. He and his assistant, Connie, picked out some amazing properties to look at. Joey is very proud of his hometown and shared so much knowledge with us.

skybay93., April 23, 2019


NICE, FRIENDLY, PROFESSIONAL

Ron and Gayle Halstead are very nice, friendly, and professional.

Laurie L., April 10, 2019


HONEST & PROFESSIONAL

I recently sold a tract of land in Cherokee County, N.C. through Joey Reid at Appalachian Land Company. I chose Joey only after researching other Realtors in the area. He certainly lived up to my expectations and handled my listing both honestly and professionally. Both he and his assistant Connie kept me informed along the way although I live in another state. I would highly recommend him to anyone because he is so knowledgeable of the local area

L. McG., March 22, 2019


A VALUABLE ASSET, A TRUE GEM!

The best part about working with Appalachian Land Company was working with Newell Collins! I think the biggest thing I appreciated is that Newell was very honest, didn’t pressure me to make a decision faster than I was comfortable with, offered help with other services that I needed, returned calls/contact expeditiously, moved the closing date up when I needed it, and was always warmly cordial. I think he’s a valuable asset to your company, a true gem! I will seek Newell‘s services again when I’m in the market for a new home/property!

Pam K., March 5, 2019


THANK YOU NEWELL!

We thank Newell for the work he did and for helping us finally sell this property!

Cindi D., March 4, 2019


EXTREMELY HELPFUL & VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE

Joey Reid was a large part in our decision to buy a vacation home in Murphy, NC. He was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about the area and the homes he showed us. We live out of state so his point of contact meant the world to us. I would recommend him and his staff strongly to anyone asking to buy a home around that area.

Lenny D., March 3, 2019


RESPONSIVE & HELPFUL

Wayne and Joy Watson were very responsive and most helpful. When the price on our property was reduced, they contacted prior prospects and other real estate agents.

William M., February 17, 2019


LISTENED & KEPT US INFORMED

Wayne and Joy Watson listened to what we wanted and kept us informed on things.

W. L. M., February 16, 2019


TOP NOTCH PROFESSIONAL

Joey Reid is very knowledgeable and helpful. He made the experience easy and went out of his way to help me at every step. He is also earnest and down to earth and I would highly recommend Joey Reid to anyone considering buying or selling property in the area. Top notch professional.

lessrad4u, February 12, 2019


FOUND MY PERFECT HOME

I would like to personally commend Jo Crowe-Joines and everyone at Appalachian Land Company for their assistance with helping me find my perfect cabin. Paul Worrell became a personal friend and one I’d consider family. Paul went out of his way to be there for me. He worked very hard, researched and found the perfect home for me with all my interests. I hope to use your property management services in the near future. I allowed Paul to show my home in hopes it brings your office future business.  I again thank you for everything.

Robert H., January 22, 2019


ACCESSIBLE & RESPONSIVE

Paul Worrell was very accessible and responsive.

John D., January 20, 2019


HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

We highly recommend  Appalachian Land Company and Ron and Gayle Halstead for getting land or real estate that you need. Ron and Gayle helped us get what we wanted! God bless them!

Charlie & Claudie M., January 19, 2019


BROUGHT PROPERTY TO OUR ATTENTION

We liked working with Wayne and Joy Watson – they’re personal friends and initially brought the available property to our attention!

Robert S., December 8, 2018


COMMITTED TO ASSISTING YOU IN EVERY WAY!

Joey Reid and Connie Watkins assisted me and my wife in finding us a home in beautiful Murphy North Carolina. They are very very committed in assisting you in every way! They respond quickly and use all their resources in finding a solution for you. They performed negotiations with the owner and agent of our new home which was contingent on the sale of our home in SC and made it a win win situation for all. A side note … you will not find a more pleasurable group of real estate people to work with in this Western NC area. I love you guys!

carolinarooster, December 3, 2018


HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Joey’s  knowledge and experience, made me feel confident and secure in the whole process. A house sale is a big deal, and you want to know that your agent is doing everything for your benefit, and they did. We bought our home with Joey 13 years ago, and now have sold with Joey , and although we no longer have a home here in Murphy, we consider Joey and his co-workers (Connie) firm friends for life. Highly recommend.

user0991589, December 3, 2018


NO PRESSURE, HELPFUL ATTITUDE

Newell is wonderful to work with – no pressure, helpful attitude. We consider him a friend.

Clifford G., November 25, 2018


EXCELLENT HELP LONG DISTANCE

Levi and Channyn  were so helpful and sincere in wanting to provide excellent help. They were the only ones that seemed interested to help long distance. They deserve special recognition – both Levi and Channyn made trips to numerous homes and videoed inside, outside and neighborhoods – with commentary!

Gordon & Suzanne S., November 25, 2018


NO PROBLEMS OR ISSUES!

Ron and Gayle took time and resources to help us, even when we were not yet ready to purchase. They were always available to us for questions. All transactions were done without problems or issues.

Marie K., November 15, 2018


BEST TEAM EVER!!

Ron and Gayle  are the best team ever!! I was extremely sick during the sale. Gayle did the best job in helping me. I miss you Ron and Gayle!

Marie K., November 15, 2018


BEST TEAM EVER!!

Ron and Gayle  are the best team ever!! I was extremely sick during the sale. Gayle did the best job in helping me. I miss you Ron and Gayle! 

Marie K., November 15, 2018


THANK YOU PAUL !

Paul was available to us on our schedule. He is very patient! Accommodating! Great follow up! Thank you Paul! I’d recommend him and have passed out his cards.

Steve A., November 9, 2018


ABOVE & BEYOND

Ron and Gayle  did everything above and beyond. They’re great people! I loved everything about working with them.

Eric S., November 7, 2018


HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Newell is a great guy! He knew my property before I described it to him. He knew what to do and when to do it. I would highly recommend him to anyone!

Michael D., November 5, 2018


PAUL WAS GREAT!

Paul spent a lot of time and walked the entire perimeter of the lot with us. Paul was great!

Craig  & Kim M., October 15, 2018


EASY TO WORK WITH & KEPT US INFORMED

Crystal was very easy to work with. She is very special to us for “putting up” with us. She is very connected to people locally which was a great help.  We liked the location of Appalachian Land Company and that  Crystal  always kept us informed during the process.

Richard C., October 2, 2018


EXPLAINED EVERYTHING

Newell made closing by mail easy by explaining everything. His kindness reflects well on your company.  This is the third time we have dealt with him. Newell’s and Appalachian Land Company’s service was excellent.

C. L. B., September 24, 2018


WE LOVE RON &  GAYLE!

Ron and Gayle  are such nice people to work with. We love them! Gayle  helped with questions we had regarding our new home along with the land purchase.

Karen E., September 24, 2018


SOLD QUICKLY

Ron and Gayle were fabulous! They returned all calls immediately. Loved our property and sold it quickly! Terrific experience!

John & Ellyn B., September 10, 2018


SONYA WAS INCREDIBLE

Sonya was incredible. Extremely responsive to any questions asked. Sonya is a Professional and knows her Business as well as her Market. She is very honest and there would be no one else that I would trust or call. And most importantly, Sonya is just a very good person!

rayc4945, September 5, 2018


PROFESSIONAL & OUTSTANDING

After selling and purchasing 11 real estate properties across 4 states, working with Sonya and Appalachian Land Company was the best. So professional, the entire company outstanding.

sarahmtstum, August 29, 2018


HONEST, TRUSTWORTHY & ETHICAL PROFESSIONAL

We were interested in purchasing a home in Murphy and were referred to Joey Reid by a friend. From the first email, we knew that Joey was the right realtor for us. He provided us with many listings to consider and made certain they met with our specific needs. After visiting several listings, we made an offer and Joey was able to finalize the deal the same day. He worked with us throughout the closing process and gave us much needed guidance with regard to local merchants and service providers. Our first weekend in our new home, we encountered an issue and Joey worked through the weekend to make sure the problem was resolved. We definitely recommend Joey to anyone looking to find a home in Murphy. He is an honest, trustworthy and ethical professional, and it shows in the way he conducts business.

barryo911, July 24, 2018


RESPONSIVE

Everyone at Appalachian Land Company was GREAT!!! Wayne and Joy were quick to respond to all phone calls, emails, etc. They deserve special recognition. Wayne went and took pictures of the basement after we left (no key) and Joy made sure the current owner turned over the house and vacated.

Alfred & Patricia S., July 4, 2018


MADE MURPHY HOME BUILD EASY FOR FL RESIDENTS

We enjoyed working with Newell. We liked his personality, valued his knowledge of the market and his honesty. We appreciated Newell’s attention to detail, his keeping us informed, his knowledge of the area, and the ease and trust he generated with us. This was especially appreciated since we were building a new home in Murphy and lived in Florida. He helped greatly in making the build “easy.”

Rolf & Jennifer H., May 16, 2018


A FIRST CLASS EXPERIENCE

Top to bottom, start to finish, working with Wayne Watson was a first class, excellent experience!

Joseph & Saskia T., May 3, 2018


PROFESSIONAL, AVAILABLE, KNOWLEDGEABLE

Sonya was very professional in all of our dealings related to the sale of our home. She was always available to answer our questions and concerns and was very knowledgeable of the area real estate market. Sonya would be my first choice for an agent again. Very satisfied.

ldanby3, April 26, 2018


GAYLE AND RON WERE FANTASTIC!

Gayle and Ron Halstead were fantastic! Everyone they brought us into contact with was helpful and pleasant to work with. When we called about a property, Gayle came right out and showed it to us the same day. Gayle and Ron went out of their way to make sure all went as smoothly as possible. Gayle even put a meal in the fridge for our first night!

John & Sharon B., April 23 2018


A SELLING ROCKSTAR!

Sonya was a ROCKSTAR when it came to selling my home. She was always available for my many questions and guided me through the entire process and made it effortless for me! Highly recommend her and her team to get the price for your home that you are looking for and to sell it quickly. Sonya  knows the area and market well and I will definitely use Sonya as my agent in the future if I am buying or selling again!

zuser20161005124317731, April 23, 2018


ALWAYS WILLING TO HELP

Wayne and Joy are easy to talk with and always willing to help or listen.

Bill & Donna M., April 1, 2018


GAVE GOOD ADVICE

Newell was great, responsive, and gave good advice.

Bonnie B., March 29, 2018


A DELIGHT TO WORK WITH

Paul was always available when needed, a great source of local knowledge, and had a willingness to fit his schedule to mine. Paul was friendly, cooperative, and a delight to work with!

John & Suzanne A., March 10, 2018


GREAT SERVICE

Great service. Paul was awesome to work with, very thoughtful. He is an asset to your company.

Jim S., March 8, 2018


FOUND THE PERFECT HOME FOR US

Want a realtor who listens and hears what you are but also aren’t saying? Sonya is your gal! She said ‘I can see you living there’. It was so far from what we had asked to be shown to that point but when we stepped on the property we both knew it was the perfect first NC home for us. We highly  recommend both Sonya and Joey to help you find the right house to call home. Through the process they shared a genuine interest in us, naturally weaved in a lifetime of info about the local area that helped us feel ‘in the know’ as transplants and offered countless references as we settled in. Realtor has a new and better definition after you meet and work with the Reids.

Carl R., March 7, 2018


VERY PROFESSIONAL & HELPFUL

We put a lot of miles on Crystal’s trust looking for “my” property. She was very professional and helpful.

Cinoy G., March 7, 2018


CARES ABOUT WHAT HE DOES

Paul is a real person who tries his best to please people. He seems to care about what he does.

Doug B., February 28, 2018


LIKED VERY MUCH!

We liked too much about Newell to write in one list!

Jeannie A., February 26, 2018


NEVER MISSED A STEP!

Newell was on point with every phase of the acquisition & closing! He never missed a step! The entire experience was effortless & gratifying! It’s evident Newell loves his profession. That brings a positive energy to the entire experience!

Tom S., February 22, 2018


WILLING TO WORK TO SELL

Joe and I liked Wayne and Joy’s attitude and their willingness to work to sell my property. I should have placed the property a long time ago. Thank you very much!

Emogene G., February 21, 2018


ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE

I want to thank Paul for taking such good care of us (especially my husband when he was up there!). Paul was absolutely wonderful throughout the entire transaction and made it so easy for us. We are very grateful for his excellent service and all the information he was able to provide us. We both look forward to the final move up there and hope we can continue our relationship with Paul once we relocate.

Suzanne A., February 16, 2018


EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!

Newell was always bringing my papers to my office when I wasn’t able to come get them. Such excellent service and so very appreciated. There was nothing I didn’t like! Even when Newell wasn’t in, other realtors assisted me in my immediate needs. Everything was perfect!

Taylor B., February 2, 2018


GREAT PEOPLE

Wayne and Joy are great people!

Dennis E., February 1, 2018


JOEY IS AWESOME!

Joey is awesome – helps any time you need him and I couldn’t have bought my house without him and his team. They are great! He is also selling my old home for me.

Pam B., December 21, 2017


FRIENDLY & PROFESSIONAL

Wayne and Joy were friendly and professional. Wayne came to the closing when he didn’t have to.

Larry & Denise R., December 20, 2017


YOU COULDN’T DO BETTER

What we liked best is Wayne and Joy’s kindness, willingness to take time to explain prices, and they’re easy to talk to! Their friendly attitude and a willingness to help with every question. You couldn’t do better. Thank you Wayne and Joy for all your help!

Dorothy H., December 20, 2017


HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Wayne and Joy always run everything well and get things done on time. My wife and I recently purchased a home in Murphy, NC through a real estate company we used in the past. This company, Appalachian Land Company, as usual bent backwards to accommodate us and take care of our questions and every need. The front desk is personable and friendly and the office is always a cheerful place to step into. I could go on and on over the professionalism that the company delivers or the excellent agents we dealt with, Wayne and Joy Watson. If you’re looking to buy land or a new home look no further than Appalachian Land Company. We highly recommend them!

Mike & Deb S., December 15, 2017


HOUSE SOLD MUCH QUICKER THAN EXPECTED

Joey was great to work with. The house sold much quicker than I expected it to. To me, this speaks to the promotion abilities of the agency in this area. Joey and I were like minded when it came to negotiation so things in that area went very smoothly.

rripper43, November 10, 2017


THE BEST!

Ron and Gayle are the best!!

Lynda B., November 1, 2017


TREATED LIKE A FRIEND

Ron and Gayle treated me like a friend, not just another customer.

Tom S., October 30, 2017


HELPFUL

Wayne and Joy were helpful with our needs.

Francisco B., September 25, 2017


EASY & WITHOUT STRESS

Joey, Sonya, Connie and the receptionist who’s name has escaped me, made me feel like family and have helped me become a Tar Heel. I met those guys five years ago and after 5 minutes I knew I was going to do business with them. The problem was I lived 700 miles away and not very mobile. They simply hooked me up with their website and from there I was able to visit homes all over western North Carolina, North Georgia and eastern Tennessee. I took virtual tours in all those states and used the satellite imagery to determine locations and directions of the homes and properties. When I arrived in town both Sonya and Joey made themselves available to me. I really liked Sonya because she was able to answer questions I did not know I should ask. When I bought my property Joey made several trips to Hayesville from Murphy (20 miles) to get answers for me that I could not get. Connie made the paper work easy and without stress. The receptionist kept me with a water and newspaper as soon as she saw me. I always went in with a smile but always came out with a good story and a chuckle or two….oh and a beautiful piece of property on Fires Creek. I love you guys, especially my friend Joey.

Victor L., September 21, 2017


TOOK CARE OF EVERYTHING

Even after signing the contract, Crystal took care of everything required for passing inspections.

Louis M., September 11, 2017


A WEALTH OF INFORMATION

Newell was a wealth of information on everything.

Shauna H., September 4, 2017


VERY RESPONSIVE, GREAT COMMUNICATION

Ron and Gayle went above and beyond to be helpful both before and after the sale. They were very responsive. They have great communication and I felt that Ron and Gayle were working on our behalf.

Hal G., August 29, 2017


AVAILABILITY

I liked Wayne and Joy‘s availability. Wayne helped to complete the closing.

Brenda S., July 12, 2017


EXTREMELY HELPFUL

Joey Reid is a native NC resident, and therefore is very knowledgeable. He and his staff were extremely helpful in guiding us through both buying and selling property. We have purchased both a house and other property and have sold a house through Mr. Reid and were very satisfied with his  performance. He was also helpful in helping us find plumbers, electricians, handy men, and people to help us move. We were very satisfied with Mr. Reid and would highly recommend him to others.

gsgleslie, July 11, 2017


WENT ABOVE & BEYOND TO MAKE THE SALE

Crystal went above and beyond and was able to make the house sell after all the hurdles we went through. Everything was handled very ethically and professionally.

Amanda S., July 6, 2017


ALWAYS IN CONTACT

Newell was always able to be in contact.

David & Connie B., July 5, 2017


HELPED KEEP US ON TRACK

The selling process can be very stressful and emotional. Sonya helped us through the process and helped keep us on track. We really appreciated her communication and willingness to talk outside normal business hours.

fsorr2, June 21, 2017


VERY PROFESSIONAL

Wayne and Joy were very professional and easy to work with.

Dominick L. & Lana K., June 12, 2017


EASY TO WORK WITH

Newell is easy to work with.

Frank N., May 30, 2017


EXPEDIENT ABOUT EVERYTHING

Newell drove us anywhere we wanted to go, was on time and informative about the area. He quickly responded to us and helped us. He was expedient about everything he did. We feel like we made a new friend in Newell!

John & Mary W., May 23, 2017


FRIENDLY & EFFICIENT

Wayne & Joy listened to the criteria and made efficient use of our limited time in the area. Both were extremely friendly & a pleasure to work with. Wayne agreed to meet the inspectors as needed since we were out of town, including the propane inspection after the sale was complete.

Darrell H., May 15, 2017


JOEY DELIVERED

Joey persisted in making a sale in a market flooded with vacation homes. He kept us informed of progress and helped us find reasonable maintenance staff to keep our vacant property in top condition for showings. He delivered for us!

user5181936, May 12, 2017


HELPED US FIND THE PERFECT PROPERTY

Joey helped us to find the perfect property, stayed in our budget (all other agents tried to sell lots over our price plan) and was there all through the buying process, even filing for a permit on our behalf, not his job, but was happy to help. My opinion, if you have Joey for your agent you are very fortunate. We were glad Joey was there for our second purchase the following year.

gsjcdj5, May 4, 2017


MADE SELLING A HOME A BREEZE

Joey and Sonya Reid are wonderful to work with. Joey found property that we purchased to build a new home and then listed our previous home for sale after we moved and it was sold two months later. I believe that Joey and Sonya Reid being western North Carolina natives have tremendous knowledge of the tri-state area and know of or can find quickly what you want to buy. Joey made selling a home a breeze.

bkh4, April 26, 2017


A JOY TO DO BUSINESS WITH

Sonya Reid is a joy to do business with. It’s easy to see she loves her job. Always available to answer any questions and follow-up response immediate.

cherylapeacock1, April 22, 2017


COMPLETELY POSITIVE EXPERIENCE

House hunting in an area that was totally unfamiliar to us was not only scary but full of uncertainties. Where to begin? We knew that the climate was just what we wanted, lack of traffic was calming, and the endless outdoor activities that were available would satisfy our needs. BUT, where was a house that checked all the boxes for us? That’s where Sonya Reid entered our search. Time, schedules, and other commitments never prevented Sonya from being our “personal” realtor, giving us the best from her experience, knowledge of the area and complete focus in finding us the perfect house. The 400 miles between us did not matter at all … her continual communication with us made us feel like we were right next door. Long story short, we now have a wonderful house in Murphy, NC that we have made our home, wrapped with the guidance of doing it right because of Sonya Reid! Our day of closing has not been the end of the story. She continues to be our “go to” for whatever we need to know, turning us in the correct direction for services in the area. Her integrity, loyalty, and personal drive are the add-ons that push her beyond the ordinary realtor. We have had such a completely positive experience through the whole process, without any hesitation we recommend Sonya Reid for any of your real estate needs. Happy house hunting!!

Helene & Armando, April 21, 2017


MAKES HOME BUYING SEAMLESS

Sonya and her assistant Eden were very helpful. Sonya grew up in the area and her knowledge of the local area, community and local trades makes home buying seamless. She was great keeping us up to speed via texts, emails, and calls. Her knowledge of the local codes, building techniques, materials, location etc was extremely helpful in the cabin buying process. We live in Florida full time so coming up to look at properties needed to be efficient and Sonya made the most of it. We highly recommend Sonya!

apolloguy, April 21, 2017


PERFECT PLACE IN THE RIGHT PRICE RANGE

Oct. of 2016, my wife and I were looking for land in the Murphy area. Being from the Raleigh area, we were having little luck finding the right spot. Just on a whim. We stopped at Appalachian Land Company. Did not know anything about or anyone there. Joey was in, we told him what we were looking  for and he asked if we could come by the next day, he had some places in mind.

We arrived the next day, hopped in Joey’s truck and started our search with what was an agent that quickly became a friend. Joey showed us one place that was okay. But as we walked that property and talked, he truly listened. He asked questions, he wanted to know exactly what we were looking for.  After that first stop, Joey took the time to show us Fields of the Wood. An awesome place we had no idea existed. He told us about his time growing up there and the area. He let us know he cared about us as people, not just clients.

After that, with what he had learned about us, he took us to a spot that was exactly what we were looking, and in the right price range to boot. No more looking needed. He answered all our questions, and told us some things that we did not know to ask. We called Joey the following Monday to make an offer on the land. But my money would be tied up until spring. He called the seller and called me back in 10 min. informing us that that was okay. Joey arranged all the title and legal stuff. It could bot have been any easier.

We closed 4/3/17, as planned. We got to see our friend and just sit and talk. I could not imagine having anyone doing a better job than Joey Reid. I just wish he could be in Raleigh when we get ready to sale our home here.

kennyprivette7, April 19, 2017


PROFESSIONALISM

I liked Crystal‘s professionalism.

Sharon & Gayle C., April 17, 2017


RETURNS PHONE CALLS RIGHT AWAY

Newell is easy to work with and returns phone calls right away.

Wayne & Fran B., April 16, 2017


NOTHING TO IMPROVE ON

We felt like there’s nothing Ron and Gayle could improve upon.

Richard & Brenda H., April 10, 2017


RESULTS

We liked the results thanks to Ron and Gayle.

Paul & Pam O., April 6, 2017


JOEY IS THE BEST!

Joey is the best! He and his team are professional, knowledgeable, and caring. When my husband and I would travel to Murphy to look at potential properties, Joey would take the time to show us what was on our ” to do list” and more. Great experience- I would absolutely recommend him.

user8770723, March 28, 2017


WENT ABOVE & BEYOND

Joey and his assistant went above and beyond the call of duty finding and showing us properties. We were out of state buyers looking for land and they were always available and had a great knowledge of the local market. We would highly recommend them and use them again when needed.

user5173767, March 27, 2017


WENT THE EXTRA MILE

I must have texted Crystal numerous times a day with questions and she always answered or got me to the correct number. Since we were not local, Crystal even took her own time and gas to drive to Hayesville to measure appliances for us so that we could order new appliances from Florida. She went the extra mile to find out who our electric would be through and after we closed, she brought her truck and trailer and hauled off moving boxes for us because we did not have a way to do it. To us, it was a blessing and far beyond her duties as a agent! She was a God send!! The kindness of everyone at your office was absolutely wonderful. It is rare to encounter that anymore.

Regin W., March 20, 2017


NEWELL IS AMAZING

As for our experience with your office, I can say the entire process from start to finish was absolutely seamless. This was our first time using a realtor and I can honestly say we could not have received a better agent. We could not be happier with him. From the first meeting to the last email he has been amazing! Newell was so personable and accommodating, very professional but laid back enough that we felt extremely comfortable with him. He answered all of our many questions and was always there when we needed him. When we called him the day before we were heading back to Florida and said we needed to see the house one more time, he did not hesitate to assist us. During the entire contract he was quick to reply to our calls, texts and emails. He even offered to meet with contractors/workers at the house for us since we are not local. During the last winter storm I text Tim in a moment of panic, inquiring about dripping pipes so that they didn’t burst. Tim text Newell and replied that it was already taken care of. Who does that? He is amazing! Again, we cannot express how awesome he has been through all of this. Even now if we had a question, I know he would be there for us. He never seemed put out by any of our request /questions. When we are in the market again, if he is available we will definitely use him again. If only he could sell our house down here we would be golden! If we hear of anyone looking for property in the area we will definitely send them your way.

Karen W, February 19, 2017


PERSONABLE, FRIENDLY & KNOWLEDGEABLE

Wayne and Joy Watson were personable, friendly and knowledgeable.

573 Hiawatha Trail, February 15, 2017


HUMOR & OPTIMISM

The best thing I liked about working with Ron and Gayle is their humor & optimism is the best.

 Debra D., February 7, 2017


ABOVE & BEYOND

Crystal did several things that went above and beyond! We are very pleased with our experience with Crystal and your company.

Brian & Debra R., February 5, 2017


NEWELL WAS AWESOME!

Newell helped us arrange selling items in the house so we didn’t have to make a trip up. Newell was Awesome!

Kenneth & Tiffany L., January 9, 2017


KIND, PROFESSIONAL & THOROUGH

Ron and Gayle were kind, professional and thorough. Ron and Gayle always returned calls immediately and were always there. The whole staff was very nice.

Richard G., January 7, 2017


VERY HELPFUL

Joey was very helpful in identifying and showing potential purchases. He spent the better part of 2 days with us. When we decided to contract for one, Joey and his staff were very helpful.

Property94  December 21, 2016


EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT

Crystal made sure everything was perfect!

Joe H., December 14, 2016


LISTENED TO ME

The personal service is great! Ron and Gayle just listened to me, which is a great reassurance.

Kimberly W., November 19, 2016


EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS IN EVERYTHING!

I am a returning customer. Wayne and Joy met and exceeded my expectations in everything!

Dwayne & Cindy D., November 19,2016


OUR DREAM HOME

Ron went above and beyond to help us get into our dream home. Great team, focused on customers’ needs and wants.

Melissa & Dale B., November 17, 2016


VERY EASY TO GET ALONG WITH

Ron and Gayle were very easy to get along with, both interacted with our children and made them feel involved. They even took us out to lunch!

Aaron & Suzanne R., October 17, 2016


ABOVE AND BEYOND

Ann went above and beyond to not only by my realtor, but to also help secure temporary housing for me. She deserves to be compensated for her extra effort!

Nicholas W., October 15, 2016


AN EXCELLENT REALTOR

Joey Reid is an excellent realtor. I would highly recommend him to others. We were very indecisive about what we were doing and spent over a year looking at properties on and off. He was very patient and did everything in his power to assist us. We did find the house we wanted. When it came to the actual purchase and closing process Joey was on top of everything and kept us well informed as to what was going on (we were doing this long distance). We feel as if we have made a new friend.

Ginger L., October 10, 2016


GOT A GOOD PRICE

All went well, I am pleased with the sale and glad it was easy to do. I think we and Crystal solved problems well together. It was just the right time and right place – we got a good price for our property. My late husband liked the family-owned Appalachian Land Company very much. Thanks for everything!

Donna A., October 1, 2016


HELPED WITH ALL OUR NEEDS

Crystal helped us with all our needs and made the move to Murphy great! Just talking with Crystal in the beginning on the phone, we knew she was our choice to stay with to find our dream home. We can’t thank her enough!

Michael L., September 28, 2016


CLOSED WITHIN 90 DAYS

I currently live in Saint Augustine, FL, 9 hours from the Murphy area. Once I was ready to find a home in western North Carolina I emailed three real estate companies in the area. Newell Collins of Appalachian Land Company responded the same day of my initial email. I didn’t hear from one of the companies and the other took a week to respond. Newell listened to what I was interested in and he put together a list of eight properties to see within a week. I’m the type of person which when I’ve made up my mind to do something, I’m ready to go right now………Newell was able to keep up with my pace, which I really appreciated.

Newell had a clear vision of what I was looking for and he had a wealth of information concerning local, quality home maintenance companies from deck builders to chimney sweeps. I was able to fine a home I really liked and closed on the home within 90 days.

My experience with Newell Collins and Appalachian Land Company was terrific, I’ll use them again when needed. I’m currently interested in a piece of property in the area and will definitely use Appalachian Land Company when ready to purchase the land.

Steve E., September 26, 2016


FOUND US JUST WHAT WE WANTED

Joey and Sonya Reid were highly recommended by close friends and we were not disappointed. They know the area and found us just what we wanted! We had worked with two others previously who had not found us what we were hoping for.

Marci W., September 14, 2016


VERY HELPFUL

Ron and Gayle were a great team – very helpful.

Jessica D., September 2, 2016


NEWELL WAS GREAT!

Newell and Tracy at the front desk were great!

Lee & Elizabeth R., September 8, 2016


GREAT COMMUNICATION

I liked the great communication from Joey Reid and everyone at Appalachian Land Company.

Jewell M., August 8, 2016


EASY TO WORK WITH

I am very pleased with Sonya! She is so easy to work with. She makes you feel like you are her only client. Very professional as well as knowledgeable. If you’re looking for results you can’t go wrong with contacting Sonya!

Michael C., August 8, 2016


HONEST OPINION

Sonya is very accessible, and takes time to work with you. Sonya will return phone calls, and will give you her honest opinion on issues involving your sale.

Chip W., August 7, 2016


EXCELLENT FOLLOW-UP

Newell had excellent follow up, I could reach him at any time day or night!

Raymond & Jeanie A., July 30, 2016


BEST WE HAVE EVER HAD!

Easy to rate Joey! The best we have EVER had in our many years of buying and selling! Yes, he has MUCH local knowledge since he has been here all his life, knows the process, is very responsive to returning calls and answering questions, and his “negotiation skills” are pretty impressive too! Oh, yeah, his assistant Connie is number one too. Thanks, Joey and Connie!

Gayle & Chuck W., July 29, 2016


ALWAYS THERE TO HELP US

Sonya was always there to help us or get us help. She seemed to be available every time we needed her. We appreciated it when Sonya couldn’t come to the closing, she asked someone to go with us in case of a problem..

Daniel & Janet R., July 14, 2016


ACTUALLY FUN!

Ron and Gayle made the task actually fun!

William Y., July 8, 2016


HELPFUL IN EVERY WAY

Newell was helpful in every way. Whether we were in town or away, he was always there to assist and answer questions. We greatly liked Newell‘s patience and availability.

Steven & Carla S., July 1, 2016


EVERYTHING WAS MADE EASY

Everything was made easy by Joey Reid. We enjoyed our home buying experience.

David & Rebecca S., June 26, 2016


ALWAYS AVAILABLE & KEPT US INFORMED

We wanted to thank Ron and Gayle personally, and Appalachian Land Company, for helping us in the listing and sale of our Murphy land. They were always available and kept us informed throughout the whole process. The closing went smoothly for us also. It was all good and overall excellent – our thanks to Ron and Gayle Halstead for the whole process!

Charles & Bobby R. & Betty R., June 21, 2016


HANDLED BUYING AND SELLING OF OUR HOME VERY WELL

Ron and Gayle handled the buying and selling of our home very well. They are very congenial folks. We enjoyed having them handle both buying and selling!

Larry H. & Mary C., June 10, 2016


A PLEASURE TO DO BUSINESS WITH!

Being out of state, we were so thankful to work with a Christian realty. Joey was very honest, very helpful, very funny – and a pleasure to do business with!! Everything at Appalachian Land Company was very nice! Clean, friendly office! Clean bathrooms! We were offered refreshments! Southern hospitality!

Kim L., June 4, 2016


EASE OF COMMUNICATION

The ease of communication with Joey Reid and Appalachian Land Company is what I liked best.

Gary D., May 19, 2016


LOWERED THE PRICE

Crystal Davis blessed us, working with us any way she could. She lowered the price for us so we could fix up the place. The whole place was remodeled inside and we got a new roof and 2-car garage and good Christian neighbors, praise God! Thank you!

Dale & Flo O., May 6, 2016


WE COULDN’T BE MORE PLEASED!!

God worked through your company to bless us more than we could think or ask! God used Joey Reid and Crystal Davis as a team to bless us and Joey also found financing for us! My husband even just retired to enjoy our new home! We couldn’t be more pleased!! Thank you!

Dale & Flo O., May 6, 2016


ALL PROS & NO CONS

Newell hooked us up to a good cleaning service, pest control, loan office and areas to fish. Working with him and Appalachian Land Company was all pros and no cons.

Richard & Kimberly R., May 2, 2016


EAGER TO HELP EVERY STEP OF THE WAY

Wayne and Joy Watson made themselves available so much that I felt guilty at times for calling them so often. Wonderful people. It was an enjoyable, yet scary process, but Wayne was eager to help me every step of the way.

Kevin C., May 2, 2016


MADE THE SALE GO THROUGH

Ron Halstead and Newell Collins worked with a difficult buyer and made the sale go through – it took a lot of patience, and I appreciate it. Ron was very friendly and helpful, and kept me informed. I was pleased with the outcome.

Carole W., May 2, 2016


THE SALE EXPERIENCE WAS RAPID, SMOOTH & MOST EFFICIENT

I did not wish the occasion to pass without expressing my very sincere appreciation to Mr. Joey Reid and staff for their very excellent and professional assistance in my recent purchase of property in Cherokee County. Mr. Reid was very knowledgeable and helpful during our property search and in suggesting real estate alternatives. The sale experience was rapid, smooth and most efficient and I am more than delighted to recommend him and your staff to others seeking real estate services in the area. Mr. Joey Reid was outstanding in both knowledge and professionalism, and a pleasure to work with. The best thing we liked about working with Mr. Reid and Appalachian Land Company was the evidence of care and concern for the client and the evident desire to act with ethics.

Paul & Sue L., May 1, 2016


NEWELL WAS FABULOUS!

Newell was fabulous! He assisted me in selling furniture by giving me names of potential buyers. He helped in finding repairmen. Thank you!

Linda T., May 1, 2016


FIT OUR TIMETABLE

Newell made himself available to fit our timetable.

Gary & Linda H., April 21, 2016


ABOVE & BEYOND

Newell went above and beyond with assistance!

Lisa S., March 22, 2016


ORGANIZATION, ENCOURAGEMENT, KNOWLEDGE & PATIENCE

The thing I liked best about Newell Collins was his organization, encouragement, knowledge of the area and patience. Newell helped me by recommending tradespeople after I moved in.

Sally J., March 12, 2016


WANTS & NEEDS CONSIDERED AT EVERY POINT

I enjoyed the overall experience where my wants and needs were considered at every point in the home buying experience. After closing on my new home, my agent Joey Reid presented me with a card that made me feel like I was part of the family.

Natalee P., March 8, 2016


HONEST, DOWN-TO-EARTH & FRIENDLY

Joey is honest, down-to-earth, and friendly. When we first met him, we felt like he was a long time family friend who wanted to help us find a dream home as much as we did. He went above and beyond to answer our endless questions and open the house for repeated visits. We were so pleased with Joey and Appalachian Land Company.

Jamie V., March 6, 2016


PROPERTY RECEIVED PLENTY OF ADS

Newell made sure our property received plenty of ads in the paper. Jo, the owner of Appalachian Land Company, always made her letters to us feel so personal and caring.

Lawrence & Marjorie K., February 23, 2016


EXCELLENT ASSISTANCE WITH NEGOTIATIONS

We appreciate Joeys assistance with negotiations, he was an excellent help with them.

John & Cindy T., February 17, 2016


EVERYTHING IS HANDLED PERFECTLY!

We had complete trust in Sonya, knowing everything is handled perfectly!

Michael & Mary Jo M., February 16, 2016


KEPT US IN THE LOOP

Crystal Davis went out and took pictures of the property and sent them to our email. The communication was great, kept us in the loop about everything. We are very satisfied with all of the services we received.

Michael & Caren D., February 16, 2016


NEGOTIATED A GREAT DEAL FOR US

Joey was always professional and he always made himself available. He negotiated a great deal for us. Plus, his assistant is wonderful!

Larry & Barbara M., February 2, 2016


ABILITY TO LISTEN & KNOWLEDGE OF PROPERTIES

Ron and Gayle Halstead had the ability to listen and had the knowledge of the properties.

Steve & Mary C., January 30, 2026


TREATED US LIKE LIFE-LONG FRIENDS

We were very comfortable working with Sonya Reid. She treated us like we were life-long friends.

Douglas & Jennifer R., January 29, 2016


HELPFUL & CONSIDERATE

I liked the friendly people at Appalachian Land Company, and Joey and his assistant. They were all so helpful and considerate.

Charlene L., January 27, 2016


KNOWLEDGE OF AREA

We liked Sonya‘s knowledge of the area and her contacts.

Barry & Cheryl S., January 15, 2016


ALWAYS GOT AN ANSWER

Connie, Joey‘s assistant, was most helpful when Joey wasn’t available. We always got an answer, one way or another!

Carl & Judy S., January 15, 2016


.

WORKED VERY HARD TO SELL OUR HOME

Joey, Sonya and their assistant Connie worked very hard to sell our home and also find us a place to live when we first came to Murphy.

Rickie & Jim D., January 14, 2016


GUIDED US IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION

Newell Collins went way beyond to help us and guided us in the right direction on any question we had. Everyone was real helpful and polite and understanding, no question went unanswered.

Phillip & Wanda S., January 12, 2016


ALWAYS PROFESSIONAL & PLEASANT

Newell was always professional and pleasant to work with.

Kurt & Donna H., January 12, 2016


DID NOT PRESSURE ME

I appreciated that Wayne and Joy did not pressure me to purchase any home. They answered my questions, expertly guided me, and let me make the decision at my own pace. Wayne and Joy provided numerous references for contractors. They also helped secure documents from the Town of Murphy, and they always gave their best, honest advice.

Jason F., January 11, 2016


A “CAN-DO” ATTITUDE

Crystal helped arrange for mowing the field so we could more easily evaluate the land. She knows the area well, she is smart and has a “can-do” attitude. She was great.

Stacey & Jerry A., January 11, 2016


WORKED AS A TEAM

I liked that Wayne and Joy worked as a team and were helpful and honest, as well as professional. During their vacation, they received an offer and took time from their vacation to present the offer and facilitate a sale.

Todd B., January 10, 2016


OUR BEST INTERESTS WERE A PRIORITY

I am writing to express our extreme satisfaction with our experience with Appalachian Land Company and in particular with the realtors Ron and Gayle Halstead. We were impressed with the degree of professionalism demonstrated by both the Halsteads. We were treated respectfully and felt we were given good advice from them. They were very personal yet also were very practical and knowledgeable. Together they were not only able to answer all our inquiries, but took the time to listen to us and develop an understanding of our goals. As a result, they were able to show us homes that were a good match for us!

We are now thrilled to own a beautiful home in the mountains of North Carolina! Ron and Gayle didn’t stop working when the papers were signed completing the sale. They were our representative in Murphy and made certain our best interests were a priority through the closing and our move into the home a week later.

Mike & Ann B., January 10, 2016


EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS IN EVERY WAY

We closed on our property December 1, but I wanted to let you know how pleased and satisfied we were with our experience. Newell Collins stayed in regular contact with us throughout the process – he discussed what we were looking for and gave me feedback on properties for us to see when we visited from Florida.

We found the property we wanted, and Newell was really on top of the offer/counter offer process until we had a deal. He worked throughout the inspection process to ensure we had all the information to ensure the property was in good shape and assisted us in finding someone to do a few minor repairs. He understands construction, repair, and potential problems with homes.

Throughout this process Newell was professional, personable and positive. No request was too large or small. He was thorough, patient, and effective. We were purchasing at a low price point, but he gave us the same attention as if we had an unlimited budget. He exceeded our expectations in every way, making this our best transaction by far.

Kathy S., January 6, 2016